The NEXT BIG THING

Image

Ladies and Gentlemen!

Step Right up. This way please to the amazing! The Phantasmagoric! The One and Only NEXT BIG THING Blog Tour. A big thank you to the dashing and debonair Guy Adams , the lovely Julia Stagg and last but not least,  Sharon Jones for the tags.

Given my current publication schedule, I rarely leave me little writing cave for more than a few hours at a time, so in an act of supreme laziness efficiency I will do a special buy-one-get-one-free post.

1) What is the working title of your next book?

I am currently editing A CONSPIRACY OF ALCHEMISTS (DelRey) which will be out on the 7th of Feb 2013 in the UK and the 5th of March 2013 in the US. I am also busy working on Book 2 in the series. It had an awesome title. In fact it was so awesome that no less than four other books to be launched in 2013 will have the same name. *sigh*

I am offering a (slightly opened) bottle of absinthe to the person who can come up with a new title.

 2) Where did the idea come from for the book?

I was on the London Underground passing through Baker Street one Tuesday afternoon, when two characters in the book started having a massive row in my head. So I started jotting down what they were saying (as one does) and the story grew from there. ALCHEMISTS eventually ended up becoming my MA dissertation and later my debut novel, which is rather a rather excellent outcome, I think.

 3) What genre does your book fall under?

 It’s Steampunk, so you can categorise it as Speculative Fiction, SciFi, Fantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Historical Fantasy, Horror … whatever floats your boat, man.

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

 Ooh, tough one: Elle is Isla Fischer meets Jane Levy meets Audrey Tatou. Marsh is a younger Richard Armitage meets Johnny Depp meets Jamie Bamber. I think about this often… you can tell.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A sweeping steampunk tale* set in the Belle Epoch featuring the adventures of Eleanor Chance, dirigible pilot.

*with added absinthe fairies

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I am represented by the supremely awesome Oliver Munson and the book will be published by DelRey(UK) here in the UK on the 7th of February 2013, and by DelRey in the US on the 5th of March 2013 with Heine in Germany at some stage after that. Books 2 and 3 in the series will follow later in 2013 and early 2014.

 7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

 I write quite fast, so it took me about four months to complete the first draft, but I had no idea what I was doing at the time, so it took a lot of polishing and reworking afterwards to get the final manuscript done.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 Any of the steampunk works du jour, I suppose. Gail Carriger, Cherie Priest and others spring to mind. I drew heavily from the 19th Century Literature so there’s that too.

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 As I said, the story sort of wrote itself, so it was a confluence of things that randomly connected. Each book is born from the alchemy of a series of cosmic events.

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

 I’m told that the descriptions of the food in the book are quite fun. My characters are Edwardian, so they all like to eat. A lot.

That’s all from me. But here are the next victims NEXT BIG THINGS,

~ do be sure click repeatedly on their blog links and tell to tell all your friends to buy their books. You won’t be sorry – I promise.

Django Wexler’s super cool epic SHINIGAMI set in the Japanese underworld has everything you would want from a novel and I am a huge fan. A devotee of the cat-herding cult of writers, he lives in Seattle, where I believe it rains a lot and they have nice coffee. When not writing full-time, Django watches anime, reads and games. I am also reliably informed that he could be persuaded to live in a cave, but it has to be a nice cave though.

Aleksandr Voinov has been published for decades and when not engaged in the super-paced Financial Sector in London, he writes, runs his own publishing empire, helps other writers and and quietly plots world domination. He is also a super nice guy who likes bonsais and is not afraid to destroy the kitchen in order to bake the perfect gingerbread man. His critically acclaimed mafia series DARK SOUL , has been available since June 2012.

Mari Hannah The wonderfully warm and funny Mari lives in a small village in Northumbria and writes edgy crime novels that garner rave reviews. Her latest book, SETTLED BLOOD is out now. I’ve also head rumours of television series, but shh.. don’t tell anyone. 

Carol McGrath Historian and PhD scholar, Carol is soon to be published. Her book, set around 1066, is a sumptuous and meticulously researched Medieval treat. I know this because I was privileged enough to have been given a sneak peak.

Claire McGowan In the space between being president of the Crime Writers’ association and entertaining people on Twitter with her astute and incredibly funny tweets, Claire writes crime novels. Her awesome debut novel, THE FALL is out now. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The NEXT BIG THING

  1. To be fair, you did help with the gingerbread man. 🙂 Congrats, and can’t wait to get my hands on your book. 🙂

  2. Fascinating stuff, Liesel! As for the new title, drink the absinthe yourself and, just like with Kevin Costner’s baseball ground, it will come…

Leave a Reply

