My Top Steampunk Tunes

Photo by Sylvia Serwin – click for source link

The other day I was listening to my mp3 player, as one does, when I suddenly realised that I had amassed a surprising collection of steampunk music. Now this was not something I had set out to do deliberately, but I am always on the lookout for a good bit of steampunk sound and so the list had grown organically over time. With tentacles. Steampunk artists never cease to amaze me with their style and ingenuity.  There is some amazing steampunk music out there, but because these artists don’t necessarily get the same exposure mainstream musicians have, it takes a bit of digging about to find the good stuff.

So, for your listening delectation, here are ten of my favourites:

(YouTube Links enclosed)

  1.  Fighting Trousers by Professor Elemental
  2. 1816, The Year Without a Summer by Rasputina
  3. This Sea by Voltaire
  4. Sleep Isabella by Abney Park
  5. Sweet Cold Collation by Professor Elemental
  6. The Ballad of Mona Lisa by Panic at the Disco
  7. The Theme to the Sherlock Holmes film by Hans Zimmer
  8. Ants Under Glass by Unextraordinary Gentlemen
  9. The Last Express by Vernian Process
  10. Castle Down by Emilie Autumn 

Support these guys, you won’t be sorry!  LS

3 Comments

Filed under Steampunk

3 responses to “My Top Steampunk Tunes

  1. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as Steampunk music! I’ve only heard the Sherlock Holmes soundtrack – which I listen to on repeat as I write my own steampunk novel – as it’s so awesome.
    Looking forward to reading ‘A Conspiracy of Alchemists’, it sounds really cool, and I love the cover.

  2. Admiring the hard work you put into your site and in depth information you offer.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated
    rehashed information. Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your
    RSS feeds to my Google account.

  3. Pingback: Steampunk Tunes with Liesel Schwarz, Author, ‘A Conspiracy of Alchemists’ | Del Rey and Spectra - Science Fiction and Fantasy Books, Graphic Novels, and More

Leave a Reply

